IEEE Photonics Society

Boston Photonics Society Chapter

Boston Chapter of the IEEE Photonics Society

Terahertz Systems Workshop  

Wednesday, October 12, 19, 26, November 2, 9, 2005, 7:00–9:30 PM
Located at MIT Lincoln Laboratory – 244 Wood Street, Lexington, MA, 02420, USA

October 19, 2005
7:45 PM

Add to Calendar Add to Calendar

Terahertz Sensing Technology Slides

Prof. Michael S. Shur, Rensselaer Polytechnic


Prof. Michael S. Shur, Rensselaer Polytechnic

Abstract:  No submission


Biography:  Michael Shur has held research or faculty positions at A.F. Ioffe Institute, Cornell, Oakland University, University of Minnesota, and University of Virginia, where he was John Money Professor of Electrical Engineering and served as Director of Applied Electrophysics Laboratories. He is now Patricia W. and C. Sheldon Roberts'48 Professor of Solid State Electronics, Professor of Physics, Applied Physics and Astronomy, Director of Center for Broadband Data Transport Science and Technology, and Director of the RPI Research Site of the NSF I/UCR Center “Connection One.” In 2001-2002, he served as Acting Director of Center for Integrated Electronics at RPI. Dr. Shur is a Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of Electrochemical Society, a member of Eta Kappa Nu, and Tau Beta Pi, Electromagnetic Academy, Materials Research Society, ASEE, an elected member, former Chair of US Commission D, International Union of Radio Science, elected Member of NRC of URSI, life member of Sigma Xi, of Humboldt Society of America, and AAAS.  Dr. Shur is Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of High Speed Electronics and Systems, Editor of the book series on Selected Topics in Electronics and Systems published by World Scientific, Member of the Honorary Board of Solid State Electronics, Vice-President for publications of the IEEE Sensor Council, and Chair, IEEE Recognitions Award Committee. He is also Distinguished Microwave Lecturer of IEEE, MTT and Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE, EDS. In 1990-1993, he served as an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices.  Dr. Shur has also served as Chair, Program Chair, Organizing and Program Committee Member of many IEEE conferences.  He is one of co-developers of AIM-Spice and co-founder of Sensor Electronics Technology, Inc. In 1994, the Saint Petersburg State Technical University awarded him an Honorary Doctorate.  He has published many technical papers, books, and has over thirty patents on semiconductor devices and circuits. Several of his papers received the best paper awards.  Among his other awards are the Gold Medal of the Russian Ministry of Education, van der Ziel Award, Senior Humboldt Research Award, the Pioneer Award from Compound Semi, RPI School of Engineering Research Award, and Commendation for Excellence in Technical Communications. Dr. Shur was also listed by ISI as one of the most quoted researchers in his field.


For more information on the technical content of the workshop, contact either:
1) Matt Emsley (, Central New England LEOS Chapter Chair
2) Farhad Hakimi (, Terahertz Systems Workshop-Technical Program Committee Chair
3) Bill Nelson (, Terahertz Systems Workshop-Technical Program Committee Co-Chair